Man Booker Shortlist

mbigenericJoyce Carol Oates is among the contenders this year for the biennial Man Booker International Prize, recognizing one writer for their achievement in fiction. Previous winners were Chinua Achebe in 2007 and Ismail Kadare in 2005. 

The Man Booker International Prize echos and reinforces the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that literary excellence will be its sole focus. The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that it highlights one writer’s overall contribution to fiction on the world stage.  In seeking out literary excellence the judges consider a writer’s body of work rather than a single novel.

The judges of this year’s prize will be Jane Smiley, Amit Chaudhuri, and Andrey Kurkov. In addition to JCO, the complete shortlist of contenders includes Peter Carey, Evan S Connell, Mahasweta Devi, E.L. Doctorow, James Kelman, Mario Vargas Llosa, Arnošt Lustig, Alice Munro, V S Naipaul, Antonio Tabucchi, Ngugi Wa Thiong’O, Dubravka Ugresic, and Ludmila Ulitskaya.

Truly an impressive list to which JCO deservedly belongs.